A version of SEMA model legislation has been reintroduced in the Washington State Legislature by Senator Mike Carrell S.B. 5246 would prohibit cities or towns from enforcing an ordinance, development regulation, zoning regulation, or administrative practice that prevents automobile collectors from pursuing their hobby. Junked, wrecked or inoperable vehicles, including parts cars, stored on private property would only require screening from public view, if required by local law. The bill is pending consideration by the Washington Senate Government Operations and Elections Committee.

We Urge You to Contact All Members of the Government Operations and Elections Committee (List Attached Below) Immediately to Request Their Support for S.B. 5246

* S.B. 5246 would permit the repair or modification of motor vehicles that are undergoing restoration.

* S.B. 5246 would permit the maintenance of parts cars as a source of parts for motor vehicles undergoing restoration.

* S.B. 5246 provides safeguards for hobbyists to work on collector vehicles on private property.

* S.B. 5246 establishes reasonable provisions that vehicles be located out of public view by means of suitable fencing, vegetation or other means.

* S.B. 5246 demonstrates a real effort by legislators and hobbyists to enact reasonable and fair compromise legislation.

DON'T DELAY! Please contact members of the Washington Senate Government Operations and Elections Committee to request their support for S.B. 5246. Thank you for your assistance.

Washington Senate Government Operations and Elections Committee

Senator Darlene Fairley
Phone: 360/786-7662
Email: fairley.darlene@leg.wa.gov

Senator Eric Oemig
Phone: 360/786-7672
Email: oemig.eric@leg.wa.gov

Senator Pam Roach
Phone: 360/786-7660
Email: Roach.Pam@leg.wa.gov

Senator Don Benton
Phone: 360/786-7632
Email: Benton.Don@leg.wa.gov

Senator Joe McDermott
Phone: 360/786-7667
Email: mcdermott.joe@leg.wa.gov

Senator Craig Pridemore
Phone: 360/786-7696
Email: pridemore.craig@leg.wa.gov

Senator Dan Swecker
Phone: 360/786-7638
Email: Swecker.Dan@leg.wa.gov

Please e-mail a copy of your letters to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org