A bill (H.B. 2059) has been reintroduced in the Washington State Legislature that would implement a vehicle scrappage program for passenger vehicles more than 15-years old that are not emissions-compliant. Under the bill, qualifying vehicles would have to be registered for a 24-month period and be in satisfactory operating condition. Replacement vehicles purchased under the plan would be required to have an EPA highway gasoline mileage rating of at least 30 mpg. Participants in the program would be granted a sales tax exemption for the first $2,000 of tax paid on the purchase price. ALL trade-in vehicles would be destroyed, regardless of their historical value or collector interest. If this effort is successful, hobbyists could be denied the availability of vintage cars and parts for restoration projects.

We Urge You to Contact Members of the Washington House Finance Committee (List Below) Immediately to Request Their Opposition to H.B. 2059

* H.B. 2059 represents an attempt by Washington State lawmakers to dust off a tired, flawed and ineffective scrappage proposal.

* H.B. 2059 ignores the fact that all scrappage programs hold the potential for enthusiasts to lose a valuable source of rare parts for vehicle restoration projects.

* H.B. 2059 is unfair to the low-income vehicle owners, many of whom depend on the low-cost transportation that older cars provide and on parts available from older cars in order to maintain their own vehicles.

* H.B. 2059 ignores the fact that scrappage programs are difficult to police and subject to fraud.

* H.B. 2059 ignores studies that show that most cars scrapped are infrequently or never used second or third vehicles.

* H.B. 2059 ignores the fact that older cars are rarely driven, generally well-maintained and not a good or cost-effective source of emissions reductions.

* H.B. 2059 will do little to improve air quality which is directly connected to overall basic vehicle maintenance.

* H.B. 2059's focus on the fuel mileage of newly purchased vehicles will likely result in increased sales of foreign nameplates and not domestic brands.

Please contact members of the Washington House Finance Committee by phone, fax or e-mail to urge their opposition to H.B. 2059.

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org. Thank you for your assistance.

Washington State House Committee on Finance

Representative Ross Hunter - Chair
Phone: 360/786-7936
Email: hunter.ross@leg.wa.gov

Representative Bob Hasegawa
Phone: 360/786-7862
Email: hasegawa.bob@leg.wa.gov

Representative Ed Orcutt
Phone: 360/786-7812
Email: orcutt.ed@leg.wa.gov

Representative Kevin Parker
Phone: 360/786-7922
Email: parker.kevin@leg.wa.gov

Representative Cary Condotta
Phone: 360/786-7954
Email: condotta.cary@leg.wa.gov

Representative Steve Conway
Phone: 360/786-7906
Email: conway.steve@leg.wa.gov

Representative Mark Ericks
Phone: 360/786-7900
Email: ericks.mark@leg.wa.gov

Representative Sharon Tomiko Santos
Phone: 360/786-7944
Email: santos.sharontomiko@leg.wa.gov

Representative Larry Springer
Phone: 360/786-7822
Email: springer.larry@leg.wa.gov