Legislation (A.B. 1740) in the California Assembly to increase the registration limit for exempted specially constructed vehicle (kit car) registrations from 500 to 750 vehicles per year was approved by the Transportation Committee. The bill now moves to the Assembly Appropriations Committee for consideration.

We Urge You to Contact Members of the Assembly Appropriations Committee (List Attached) Immediately to Request Their Support for A.B. 1740

* Under current California policy, specially constructed vehicles that do not receive one of the 500 sequence numbers are subject to a "muddied" titling, registration and smog check process.

* A.B. 1740 will help mitigate the "black market" value of these 500 sequence numbers which are often sold on e-bay and other on-line auction sites.

* A.B. 1740 recognizes the minimal impact specially constructed vehicles have on air quality.

* A.B. 1740 recognizes the fact that specially constructed vehicles are overwhelmingly well-maintained and infrequently driven.

* A.B. 1740 will help allow vehicle owners to confidently take advantage of a newly-enacted vehicle registration amnesty program for specially constructed vehicles that were previously registered or classified incorrectly. Under the new law, the DMV will grant amnesty from prosecution to vehicle owners if certain conditions are met, including the owner filing a completed application with the department.

DON'T DELAY! Please contact members of the Assembly Appropriations Committee today to urge support for A.B. 1740.

California Assembly Appropriations Committee

Felipe Fuentes - Chair
Phone: 916/319-2039
Email: Assemblymember.Fuentes@assembly.ca.gov
Fax: 916/319-2139

Connie Conway - Vice Chair
Phone: 916/319-2034
Email: Assemblymember.Conway@assembly.ca.gov
Fax: 916/319-2134

Tom Ammiano
Phone: 916/319-2013
Email: Assemblymember.Ammiano@assembly.ca.gov
Fax: 916/319-2113

Steven Bradford
Phone: 916/319-2051
Email: Assemblymember.Bradford@assembly.ca.gov
Fax: 916/319-2151

Charles M. Calderon
Phone: 916/319-2058
Email: Assemblymember.Calderon@assembly.ca.gov
Fax: 916/319-2158

Joe Coto
Phone: 916/319-2023
Email: Assemblymember.coto@assembly.ca.gov
Fax: 916/319-2123

Mike Davis
Phone: 916/319-2048
Email: Assemblymember.Davis@assembly.ca.gov
Fax: 916/319-2148

Kevin de Leon
Phone: 916/319-2045
Email: Assemblymember.deLeon@assembly.ca.gov
Fax: 916/319-2145

Isadore Hall III
Phone: 916/319-2052
Email: Assemblymember.Hall@assembly.ca.gov
Fax: 916/319-2152

Diane L. Harkey
Phone: 916/319-2073
Email: Assemblymember.Harkey@assembly.ca.gov
Fax: 916/319-2173

Jeff Miller
Phone: 916/319-2071
Email: Assemblymember.Miller@assembly.ca.gov
Fax: 916/319-2171

Jim Nielsen
Phone: 916/319-2002
Email: Assemblymember.Nielsen@assembly.ca.gov
Fax: 916/319-2102

Chris Norby
Phone: 916/319-2072
Email: Assemblymember.Norby@assembly.ca.gov
Fax: 916/319-2172

Nancy Skinner
Phone: 916/319-2014
Email: Assemblymember.Skinner@assembly.ca.gov
Fax: 916/319-2114

Jose Solorio
Phone: 916/319-2069
Email: Assemblymember.Solorio@assembly.ca.gov
Fax: 916/319-2169

Tom Torlakson
Phone: 916/319-2011
Email: Assemblymember.Torlakson@assembly.ca.gov
Fax: 916/310=2111

Alberto Torrico
Phone: 916/319-2020
Email: Assemblymember.torrico@assembly.ca.gov
Fax: 916/319-2120

Thank you for your prompt attention. Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org