A bill (H.B. 1442) has been introduced in the North Dakota State Legislature to prohibit the modification of any motor vehicle that alters the manufacturer's original suspension, steering or brake system unless the state highway patrol issues an inspection certificate. Current law permits modification if the equipment meets "SEMA standards." H.B. 1442 adds that modifying equipment may also meet Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards (FMVSS). Among other things, the bill also would require fenders on all motor vehicles. The bill will be considered by the North Dakota House Transportation committee on Thurs., Feb. 3, 2011.

We Urge You to Contact House Transportation Committee Members (List Attached) Immediately To Request Their Opposition to H.B. 1442

For those interested in attending the hearing to voice their opposition, the committee will meet on Thurs., Feb. 3 at 2:45 p.m. at the following address:

Fort Totten Room
State Capitol
600 East Boulevard Avenue
Bismarck, North Dakota 58505-0360

* This bill makes no sense. There are no specific SEMA standards applicable to equipment used to modify suspension, steering or brake systems. SEMA does not set standards. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) only issues FMVSS to regulate equipment that is required on all new motor vehicles. An aftermarket part may only be regulated if it takes a vehicle out-of-compliance with a required piece of safety equipment when installed. For example, lift kits used to modify ride height for function and utility are not specifically regulated by FMVSS.

* H.B. 1442 does not indicate any objective criteria that the state patrol will use to determine which modifications are legal.

* H.B. 1442 would require fenders on all vehicles regardless of whether or not they were originally manufactured with this equipment.

DON'T DELAY! Please contact members of the North Dakota House Transportation Committee immediately to request their opposition to H.B. 1442.

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org. Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts. Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance.

North Dakota House Transportation Committee

Dan Ruby - Chairman
Email: druby@nd.gov

Dave Weiler - Vice Chairman
Phone: 701-255-5042
Email: dweiler@nd.gov

Lois Delmore
Phone: 701-772-8428
Email: ldelmore@nd.gov

Robert Frantsvog
Phone: 701-839-5307
Email: rfrantsvog@nd.gov

Edmund Gruchalla
Phone: 701-866-2305
Email: egruchalla@nd.gov

Brenda Heller
Phone: 701-873-7791
Email: bheller@nd.gov

Kathy Hogan
Phone: 701-235-1916
Email: khogan@nd.gov

RaeAnn G. Kelsch
Phone: 701-663-0774
Email: rkelsch@nd.gov

Scott Louser
Phone: 701-839-9587
Email: sclouser@nd.gov

Kenton Onstad
Phone: 701-862-3445
Email: konstad@nd.gov

Mark S. Owens
Phone: 701-792-1819
Email: mowens@nd.gov

Gary R. Sukut
Phone: 701-572-9607
Email: gsukut@nd.gov

Don Vigesaa
Phone: 701-797-2448
Email: dwvigesaa@nd.gov

Robin Weisz
Phone: 701-962-3799
Email: rweisz@nd.gov